Emily Weiner Migration Necklace

I was so freaking excited when I saw the Erica Weiner Winged Migration Necklace. I thought it was oh-so-cute and just a fun little piece. It was on sale on fredflare.com for $17.99. I promptly ordered it among some other things that caught my eye. I tore into the box once I received it. I felt like the kid in the movies who spent his whole summer mowing yards to order a jetpack from a magazine, always one yard closer to soaring high above the houses on his block. Then one day it comes and you realize it’s just some plastic tubing, cheap glue and chipping paint: The ultimate letdown.

Migration Necklace

I really did love this necklace when I found it online. When I received it though, I was shocked at the poor quality. Don’t get me wrong. I wasn’t expecting much for $17.99 but I wasn’t expecting something that came out of the quarter machine at the grocery store either.

While I loved the design, I feel as though it was poorly executed. The metal used for the bird and plane charms is very thin and can be bent with minimal force. However, it is the cheap and discolored chain that really makes this necklace look bad. Had the charms been a bit better quality I probably would have added a new chain myself, but this necklace is just beyond repair and therefore, must be sent back. This makes me question the quality of all Erica Weiner designs and about what fredflare.com is willing to sell.

On the bright side, I did get a chuckle when filling out the return form. I’ve never had to write “weiner” on a document before. Immaturity ftw!

“You can get much farther with a kind word and a gun than you can with a kind word alone.” -Al Capone

Leave a comment